Streetlife – the local social network

So I thought I would share this fantastic website with you all. At the moment it is available in the UK, primarily, but perhaps there are international versions? I’m not sure.

Anyway, I joined up to it the other day and I think it is a great idea! It’s a fairly new site but I think it has plenty of potential to grow and become an immensely useful tool for communities. The thing is, Streetlife can only become successful if we all use it and share it. So join up now!

I have lived in Diss for just over a year now and I confess to knowing very few people in my neighbourhood, with the exception of my immediate neighbours (who usually take in my parcels when I’m at work – thanks guys!). This is going to give me the opportunity to get to know new people and hopefully, give something back to the community.

The idea is to create a social network for your city, town or neighbourhood to share local activities and news and also to get to know the people who live around you. Here is the promotional video, explaining the concept.

I hope that all of my lovely UK readers will join the network! In a world with so many forms of communication, it is strange to think that many of us do not know our neighbours. Now we have an opportunity to change all that and reinstate community spirit!

Are you already using Streetlife? What do you think of it?
Are there any international equivalents that have been particularly successful?

One response to “Streetlife – the local social network

Leave a Reply

